Skip to main content
To homepage
Coronavirus updates: MTA Service During the Coronavirus Pandemic, Read more

MTA Arts & Design

New York Minute

Gabriel Barcia-Colombo

Fulton Center & Dey Street Concourse

November 10, 2014 through Spring 2015

Commissioned by MTA Arts & Design, New York Minute is a large-scale 52-channel video installation by video artist Gabe Barcia-Colombo which will debut in at the newly opened Fulton Center, marking the inauguration of Arts & Design’s new Digital Arts Program.

The term 'New York Minute' first originated in Texas around 1967. It is a reference to the frenzied and hectic pace of New Yorkers' lives. The saying goes: A New Yorker does in an instant what a Texan would take a minute to do.

The installation will feature portraits of everyday New Yorkers doing everyday things in super slow motion. The installation seeks to point out the things we miss when we rush around the city in a frantic pace, altering our tempo and timing. In this new work, Gabriel Barcia-Colombo highlights the comical and sometimes poignant street interactions that help make New York the unique city it is.

Special thanks to the following people who participated in the making of New York Minute:

Valerie Chen
Todd Bryant

Peter L. Amato
Kathryn Amato
Shruti Amatya
Chinazo Rena Anakwe
Faisal Ashraf
Xenobia Bailey
Summer Bedard
Anastasia Browning
Sam Charny
Andrew D'Ambros
Melissa Elledge
Preston Phillip Ferraino
Kristen Foote
Lew Gardner
Alexander Gargilis
Chris J. Giarmo
Noemi Gonzalo-Bilbao
Israel Heller
Lee Jimenez
Fred Kahl
Ayesh Lartez
Raphael Lasar
Michael Lee
Marvin Lee
Matthew Lee
Mae Levitz
Jonah Levitz
Yotam Mann
Siena Meehan
Kelly Mills
Ran Mo
Arlene Moskowitz
Nicola Mussini
Victoria Nahorn
Patricia Napolitano
Takayo Noda
Michael J. Oakley
Stephen Antonio Ortiz
Smitha Piedilato
Suzzane Ponomarenko
Bishlex Man Pradhan
David Rios
Sarah Rothberg
Lyn Rubenstein
Joan Scholvin
Laura Schooler
Sara Schwartz
Marina Shirke
Leo Shirke
Eve Sorel
Joe Stratton
Jay Strauss
Macy Sullivan
M. Sother Teague
Aurea Tomeski
Yuliya Tsukerman
Joe Uddo
Valeria Washington
Quincy Washington
Tyler Washington
Lisa Weisdorf
Kayla Weisdorf

About Permanent Art Program Digital Art Program Lightbox Project Transit Posters Music Under New York Poetry Podcasts Index

Fulton Flow 

New York Minute 

Bowling Green 

New York Dreaming

The Blowing Bowler

New York Minute 

Follow us on:
  • Google Translate